Officially a bum

So I quit my job today. I don’t know what I was thinking really, what with this ~credit crunch~ tearing the country to shreds and all. I detailed in an earlier post how much I hate working where I do, so I know i’ve made the right decision, as I was thoroughly miserable. But I still wonder if i’ve made the right decision. Obviously, i’m not going to miss the people bar one or two, I’m not going to miss the customers, the uniform or the harsh lighting of the place, but I will miss the money (duh!) and having something to do on the weekend. The official line is that I quit to concentrate on my studies, but really I think I quit because I was slowly, but very surely sinking back into depression again.

This is where I hate that depression has no real medical standing in society. “I’ve quit my job because i’ve broken my leg” would get a much more sympathetic response than “I’ve quit my job because i’m depressed.” I don’t know, I don’t really get it – depression is disabling, very much so (although maybe not quite as much as a broken leg) and yet it’s seen as something… fake.
I can assure you that it’s not just an excuse to get out of things – it’s draining.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

