(Genuinely) Surprising Pop News Of The Day: McFly pretend to be Lady GaGa, just without the disco stick

Remember McFly? I do. I was terribly upset when Busted split up, being all of 14 years old, and I hated McFly for taking their space. (I fancied Danny, though, but I’d sooner die than admit that)
The same girls who bought acoustic guitars and wore ties even when not in school (Busted had a lot to answer for there) dyed their hair 5 different colours and pretended that they liked Back To The Future, and I had none of it. “Busted forever!” I thought, before quickly growing up and moving the fuck on. (But…hey, Charlie, if you ever tire of Fightstar, give me a call)

McFly went on to be one of the most successful boy bands…well…ever, even stealing records from their idols The Beatles (they were the youngest band to have their album debut at number 1, fact fans). It’s funny, though, most people aren’t even aware that McFly are even still around. Which is probably why they’ve decided to hop on the nearest bandwagon and channel Lady GaGa for their next single, Party Girl.

Lady GaGa?! McFly?! In the same sentence?! Surely not, I hear you cry, but never fear, the clip that premiered earlier today on Radio 1 is actually, shockingly, quite good. It is, of course, as generic as anything else that is sub-par GaGa, but it works, from the clip it even sounds a bit sexy, which is giving me mixed emotions. It’s not as try-hard as I thought it would be, in fact it sounds as if McFly have been doing this their entire careers, instead of trying to be a melting pot of Queen, The Beatles, and The Beach Boys.

It’s always interesting when bands change direction like this. Of course, Party Girl could just be a one off to help promote the album and get people talking about them again, but with the next single being produced by Taio Cruz (!) it doesn’t look like just a flash in the pan for them. And it’s quite a big risk, considering McFly have such a large, loyal fanbase, second only to those scary JLS fans in their unwavering support of their idols. They have to be careful not to alienate their fanbase, though I’m sure the hardcore fans will stick by them no matter what.

It’s definitely a drastic change in direction for them, and it remains to be seen if it pays off for them, but maybe this will be the breath of fresh air they need to remind the general public that they are still around, this time better than ever, and Definitely Better Than Busted.

Listen to the clip of the new single right here:

Just FYI, this is the definitive list of Quite Excellent McFly Songs, presented to you with those old, faithful lyric & audio YouTube videos, just in case you want to sing along.

And you can laugh at the poor souls spending ages creating these videos, but if YouTube was around during the height of YOUR fandom for New Kids On The Block/Backstreet Boys/N*Sync/Take That [delete as appropriate], you know you would have been making these too. Enjoy!

Lies

Obviously

Ultraviolet

7 Comments

  1. Harriet
    Posted July 14, 2010 at 9:29 pm | Permalink

    Good article :)

    I too was deeply upset by the loss of Busted, but i’ve been a loyal McFly since the beginning, and can’t wait to see what the haters of ‘old McFly’ think of the new material !
    I personally love it, and i’m eagerly awaiting the album!!

    • Posted July 14, 2010 at 9:41 pm | Permalink

      I’ve never been a big fan of McFly, but I’ve never hated them, and I think they’ve got some amazing singles, and while writing this I listened to 2 or 3 of their albums for the first time and thought they were great too! They’re all very talented, that’s for sure, I think that’s why they can pull this off!

      I agree that it’ll be interesting to see what haters think, I can imagine people loving the song but being ashamed about it because its McFly, and that’s a shame!

  2. Posted July 20, 2010 at 7:28 am | Permalink

    wonderful share, great article, very usefull for me…thanks

  3. Posted July 21, 2010 at 3:56 pm | Permalink

    Good

  4. Posted July 24, 2010 at 3:02 am | Permalink

    Just a short hi and to thank you for sharing your thoughts in this post. I mysteriously found myself here just after following up on a lot of celeb health stuff over on Google… guess I got somewhat sidetracked! Well, I’m off and many thanks for discussing your thinkings. I’m going to be back sometime to check out your latest posts. Appreciate it!

  5. gnouht
    Posted February 13, 2011 at 2:06 pm | Permalink

    well you know what .. listen to ‘one for the radio’, that song was written for you, haters :)

    • Posted February 13, 2011 at 2:16 pm | Permalink

      Shall do, it’s a rather good song. I am a fan of McFly, you know, certainly not a hater


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

