Boys Boys Boys: Jo Calderone


Say hello to Jo Calderone, a mechanic from Italy whose ambition in life is to own his own car shop. He loves his ‘muscle’ cars, and…wait a minute, that nose looks awfully familiar. The lips, too. In fact, Jo, who is currently gracing the cover of Vogue Hommes in Japan, looks exactly like a certain Stefani Germanotta dressing up as Elvis!

Apparently Jo Calderone is merely a model plucked from obscurity to grace the front cover of Japanese Vogue. But, that nose! This seizure-inducing GIF goes some way to showing why GaGa stans believe it to be Mother Monster:

If this is her (and it’s a pretty good bet that it is), then this is an interesting move. Lady GaGa is a brilliant popstar and I’ve been a massive fan since the very beginning, but recently it’s felt as if she’s been a victim of her own success. She’s been trying too hard to be arty, and edgy, and it has often left a sour taste in the mouths of fans who would rather that she went back to being poppy, party GaGa. Plus overexposure is never good for any artist, especially one that can sometimes seem as if she’s believing her own hype. But this is actually exciting! She’s actually doing something that is arty, and edgy, and controversial!

The best thing about this is the fact that it’s almost like a massive fuck you to everyone saying that she’s a dude, has a penis, etc. The infamous Q dildo shoot was one thing, but posing as a man, with none of her feminine…charms, for lack of a better word, present, in one of the biggest men’s magazines in the world, is another. It’s a brave move, something I can’t imagine any other female popstar doing, and another reminder that Lady GaGa does things her way, and not for the approval or enjoyment of anyone else but her.

The shoot in Vogue was also accompanied by this (rather awful) interview, which again hints that her new album is going to be titled Born This Way. (Which in my opinion is also rather awful, and sounds like something Nickleback would reject.  But as long as the music is as good as The Fame Monster, it doesn’t matter)

WHERE ARE YOU FROM?
Palermo, Sicily

HOW WOULD YOU DESCRIBE WHAT YOU DO / YOUR
OCCUPATION?

Mechanic for my dad’s business. This is the first time I’ve had my picture taken.

WHEN DID YOU DISCOVER YOU WANTED TO TO THIS?
Well, I always helped my dad at work, since I was a kid. I thought it would be fun to have my picture taken.

WHAT ARE YOUR AMBITIONS?
I’d love to own my own car shop, I have a bunch of my own ‘muscle’ cars. Maybe if I take some more pictures I can afford it.

WHAT IS YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO LADY GAGA?
I met her at a shoot Nick Knight was doing. She’s fuckin beautiful, and funny, and interesting. I was a little nervous for Nick to start shooting. She said, “Don’t be baby, you were “born this way.” I took her out after. The rest is private ;)

What do you think?

5 Comments

  1. Posted August 25, 2010 at 9:42 pm | Permalink

    Wow, that looks totally like her in the GIF, excellent blog as ever

    • Posted August 26, 2010 at 10:02 am | Permalink

      It does doesn’t it?! It would be better though if in the interview “Jo” didn’t talk about GaGa though, just to keep people guessing for a bit longer. And thanks :D

  2. Posted September 3, 2010 at 8:18 pm | Permalink

    Hi there

    I apreciated this hark work in this page, you are contributing with knowledge!The feature that is missing is a translate program to other foreign people!besides that fact everything´s good.
    you shoul see my blog in http://www.bestpokernodepositbonus.blogspot.com/ about no pay forex doing everybody gain money with no investement.
    Stop by there and leave your opinion as I did in your page, it´s no great as yours so I would like your help there!
    I hope I can write here and enter of this community.
    stay well

    PS:Sorry for my lousy english.

  3. Posted September 7, 2010 at 6:39 am | Permalink

    That great! Thanks for us

  4. Posted September 7, 2010 at 6:43 pm | Permalink

    For the help please use http://www.google.com


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

