dirrrrty pop: Cheryl Cole – Promise This

Today I was up very early, thanks to an apparently deaf doctor’s receptionist that took my “appointment for 12?” to mean “appointment for 9 with a doctor you never see, with a medical student sitting in and attempting to read your blood pressure and failing”.This meant that I could listen to the première of Cheryl Cole’s new single, Promise This, which did its thang on Chris Moyles’ Radio One breakfast show this morning at 8.15am.

Is this how radio premières usually work? I don’t get up early unless somebody is paying me to do so, so I miss the ‘big’ singles that Moyles gets first play of. Does he really blabber on about stupid things that have no relevance to anything? Yes, the bit that goes alouette-do-do-do (how do you put that bit into words?! Maybe in French. If I knew French) sounds a lot like ‘Aled is a bed wetter’ (‘a lot’ meaning ‘only if you want it to’) but who gives a shit when Queen Cheryl Of Cole has just given you the exclusive first play of her new single?! Too much twat for this time of day.

Anyway, here it is, in all its radio ripped glory:

Cheryl Cole – Promise This by ileaks

Thanks to iLeaks for that Soundcloud thingy, thanks to YouTube for removing everything to do with the song.

What do you think? Team Cheryl or Team Nadine? Or Team Lovely Girls Aloud? (Sad face)

8 Comments

  1. Posted September 14, 2010 at 10:15 am | Permalink

    I am really grateful to have the information from this blog.I liked the blog as it has been written,the information i got from here.
    This is a good information i got from here.I really liked it and this information is worth remembering.

    • Posted September 16, 2010 at 10:52 pm | Permalink

      *thumbs up*
      I’ll be quizzing you on the content of the blog, so you’d better remember it!

  2. Posted September 14, 2010 at 11:24 am | Permalink

    I would call it a grower, in the loosest sense, in as much as while I instantly liked the Nadine single, I felt a little underwhelmed when this kicked in. It only took the length of one play through to win me over though. And yeah, it’s sad to think of it as a chart battle. They should support each other. Like a pop bra.

    • Posted September 16, 2010 at 10:53 pm | Permalink

      ALLLLLOUETTEETETETETETE..etc. It’s going to have one kickass performance on the X Factor, that’s for sure.
      They need better PR training! What the hell are they thinking telling the press they havent heard from each other at all in like a year? It wouldnt hurt for them to just say ‘Yeah I talked to her a few weeks ago’, etc. It’s really not fair on the fans. THINK OF THE FANS! *wails*

  3. Posted September 14, 2010 at 12:52 pm | Permalink

    I’m just not a big fan of Cheryl Cole (or Chris Moyles for that matter). It would be nice for Nicole to knock her off her pedestal for a while!

    • Posted September 16, 2010 at 10:55 pm | Permalink

      I’m definitely not a fan of Chris Moyles (though I do remember going through a period of listening to his show every morning before I went to school a few years back…) but I do like Cheryl, when the media aren’t making her out to be some kind of saint…

  4. Posted September 14, 2010 at 4:05 pm | Permalink

    I really can’t get excited about this. Partly because Mark Ronson’s usage of Alouette in Bang Bang Bang is painted on my brain with indellible ink but also because I think the lyrics and the vocal performance would have benefitted from something a bit simpler in the backing track. Perhaps it’ll grow, but for now, I think I’m firmly on Team Nadine. It’ll still be Cheryl that scores the number 1, though :(

    • Posted September 16, 2010 at 11:00 pm | Permalink

      I really don’t like Mark Ronson or anything he’s done (apart from Oh My God, but I think that was more because of Lily Allen) so I haven’t heard that, but when I played it to my mum she started singing the errr…nursery rhyme version.. “Alouette, gentille Alouette”, etc, and I just have that in my head every time I think of Promise This. I think the song is definitely a grower, at first it’s like ‘WHAT IS THIS MADNESS?!’ but it is catchy. I think I like Nadine’s song more, but yeah, Cheryl’s going to go to number 1 and Nadine has no chance. Why can’t she just release a bit earlier so that she at least has a chance at getting #1? Obviously she can’t do that now without people thinking its because she’s scared of Cheryl…
      Arrrgh GA are in such a mess :(


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

