dirrrty pop: Willow Smith – Whip My Hair

  • Willow Smith is, unsurprisingly, the daughter of Will Smith.
  • This is her debut single, Whip My Hair, and it’s a stomping, thuddering, infectious slice of poppy r’n’b.
  • She has just signed to Jay-Z’s Roc Nation label and sounds an awful lot like Rihanna, who she cites as being one of her idols.
  • She’s nine years old. Nine! NINE! That makes me feel a little bit wrong for liking this.
  • She wrote it herself, apparently. That’s quite amazing. I probably couldn’t write a song even now, so she’s already outdoing me in the life department.
  • And what were you doing with your life when you were 9? I was dancing around my room pretending to be Britney Spears. Which is exactly what Willow Smith is doing, except she’s a lot cooler than I was, and actually gets to live the dream of whipping your hair about a lot while running across a stage. Which was always what I wanted to do. I weep for my lost youth.
  • You’ll probably wake up tomorrow singing ‘I whip my hair back and forth! I whip my hair back and forth!‘ like I did this morning. Just don’t try and whip your hair back and forth all that much, think of your neck! You’re not a sprightly nine year old any more, you know.

9 Comments

  1. Billy Scott
    Posted September 15, 2010 at 12:48 pm | Permalink

    I think 9 year olds should be playing with dolls and hating boys and whatever else 9 yr old girls do, they shouldnt be making records even if your dad is the Fresh Prince and your signed to the Jiggaman’s record label.

    Having said that, its a good blog post as ever x

    • Posted September 15, 2010 at 12:55 pm | Permalink

      It’s a bit weird that she’s 9, but to be honest when I was 9 if someone had offered me a record deal for the crappy little songs I wrote* then I would have jumped at the chance!

      *”Over the bridge, and far away, you can come, and you can stay, over the waaaater and sooo, you can go, anywhere you want to go” – I SHIT YOU NOT. I still remember this. And how it goes. One day I’ll make millions from it, I’m sure.

      • Billy Scott
        Posted September 15, 2010 at 1:04 pm | Permalink

        Sounds quite good, look forward to it x

  2. Posted September 15, 2010 at 12:59 pm | Permalink

    I really want to hear this song of yours. Also, I rather like this hair whipping bidness. It is infectious. To be fair, the children of megastars were never going to have what we perceive as a “normal” life, so facilitating their artistic dreams the way the Pinketty-Smithses have with their children this year is probably the best thing they could have done as parents. And WOW does she look like her dad!

    • Posted September 15, 2010 at 1:31 pm | Permalink

      I agree, it sounds grown up but it also sounds exactly like something a girl of her age would sing. She looks so much like her dad it’s kinda scary. I think the Pinketty-Smithses definitely just cloned themselves. I mean, the clue is in their names – Willow and Jaden? Puhleaaaze.

      My friend and I recorded a load of crappy songs just like Over The Bridge under the guide of being ‘The CD Girls’. We were brilliant.

  3. Lisa
    Posted September 16, 2010 at 4:21 am | Permalink

    Very catchy beat. I love it. Quite frankly
    it reeks of daddy Will Smith.However, I heard that she wrote it. Apparently she inherited more than daddy’s ears;) Much love to the Fresh Prince family.

    • Posted September 16, 2010 at 10:43 pm | Permalink

      It’s *extremely* catchy, it’s still a bit strange that she’s 9 – it sounds like it should be given to Rihanna or someone else less obvious…
      I wonder how much involvement Will Smith has had in this, and Jada too… Will be interesting to see what else she can do, if her album is all like Whip My Hair it’ll be a hell of an album!

  4. Posted September 16, 2010 at 2:21 pm | Permalink

    Money is the key and making money, for some people is what really matter and she is doing it right now, well, she is doing what was said for her to do. With this big number of teen/child idols, another one (I am sure she will become one) will be welcomed to this hungry midia and she has Fesh prince´s name so, let´s dance and whipe our heirs. lol

    • Posted September 16, 2010 at 11:41 pm | Permalink

      Nothing wrong with making money! And I agree, the industry clearly wants more teen idols. Simon Cowell has made that clear! Personally I want to hear from The CD Girls! What an amazing name!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

