And finally, one year on…

If only I had never needed this...

My gap year is now officially over. It has ceased to be, it has expired and gone to meet its maker, it has shuffled off its mortal coil…etc. Basically, It is now an ex-gap year.

This time last year, nothing anyone could have said to me would have persuaded me that taking a year out was a good option. Nuh-uh, no way, I wanted university and I wanted it right at that very moment. I won’t go on about how heartbreaking missing my offer was, or how difficult the decision to take a year out was, because you can read all about it here. And here. And here. What I will say is that it all seems very melodramatic and stupid now, though I know it hurt like hell at the time. This is mainly because I have had an utterly fantastic year – better than I ever could have imagined that cold September morning when I realised that I’d have to temporarily put my dreams on hold.

I was lucky in that I got a job fairly quickly, with Clas Ohlson, Sweden’s latest attempt at taking the UK by storm, and everyone’s favourite weird yet wonderful DIY shop. When I first realised that I’d have to get a job to occupy myself, and, more importantly, earn money, I dreaded the thought, but thought that I could get by getting a crappy shop job that I’d probably be miserable in. But apart from the usual ‘niggles’ and politics that come with any workplace, I had an amazing time working there – and made some brilliant friends that honestly more or less made my year as great as it was. And, as a bonus, the job itself was good, though I suppose no one really likes retail, do they? I was truly sad to leave when the time came a few weeks ago, which, weirdly, I never would have expected.

The result of working more or less full time for the duration of the year was that I made some money – by rights I should now be rolling in ‘dough’, as the cool kids call it, but actually I’m not because I (rightly or wrongly) just spent it all. I had a brilliant time doing whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted. Which means that though I am now pretty much fucked for university. At least I had fun!

So, now. It is Friday night, I am drinking diet Pepsi and tapping away at my keyboard, listening to music and reading countless blogs all at the same time. Pretty much a standard Friday night for me, but tonight there’s something different – mainly the fact that my belongings are everywhere. In front of me my clothes are all vacuum-packed up, in my room my make up is all packed away, next to them my books are ready to be boxed up. In two days I move to the University of Sheffield, something I didn’t really think would ever actually happen.

It has been a long time coming. But I am excited. And nervous. Actually, beyond nervous – there is a butterfly camp in my stomach and they’re breeding hourly. I am sad too, of course. It will be tough leaving my mum, and my home, and because of the ace time I’ve had this year, it will be tough leaving my hometown, even though to be honest it is a bit of a dump.
I have butterflies, and I am stressed out, and I really don’t know how I’m going to fit all of my belongings in my dad’s tiny car, but I really, REALLY can’t wait. It’s finally happening!

See you in Sheffield :)

11 Comments

  1. Posted September 17, 2010 at 9:42 pm | Permalink

    Aww, you know im so happy for you and im glad ive been here for the journey as a friend. Just remember sometimes things are meant to be, your time is now and you will enjoy it more because you have felt disappointment last year.

    Finally I wanna wish u good luck xxx

    • Posted September 17, 2010 at 9:46 pm | Permalink

      Thank you! I definitely believe in that ‘what will be will be’ and that things are meant to happen now. I’ve had so much fun and experienced things I never would have experienced had I gone straight to university. So yay!

  2. Posted September 17, 2010 at 9:43 pm | Permalink

    Well, I can safely say this is my most anticipated sequel of all time. I remember the sinking feeling that came when I realised I had no hope of making you see the positive side of what happened. I’m glad you ended up enjoying the year, the friends you made at work, and I’m grateful too for the time we got to spend together. And I will see you in Sheffield :)

    • Posted September 17, 2010 at 9:48 pm | Permalink

      It bloody sucked! Thank you for being there for me, it really does mean a lot :D

      That goes for you too Billy, though this isn’t in reply to your comment…*shouts*

      • Posted September 17, 2010 at 10:21 pm | Permalink

        Youre welcome, i hear ya now, shout louder next time, you know im old lol

  3. Posted September 17, 2010 at 9:56 pm | Permalink

    I am so unbelievably happy for you, Emma. It feels like we first started tweeting each other a lifetime ago and now September 2010 has crept up so fast! I remember feeling so much sympathy (or possibly empathy, I get them confused) for you when you blogged about that heartbreaking near miss, so it’s fantastic to know that you’ve made the best out of a bad situation. Can’t wait to see you in Sheffield :)

    • Posted September 17, 2010 at 10:03 pm | Permalink

      Aw, thank you! I still think it’s a little bit strange that we were tweeting each other for so long and now we’re going to be at the same uni, in the same lectrues, etc! Very cool though, can’t wait to meet you either! :D

  4. Catherine
    Posted September 18, 2010 at 7:23 am | Permalink

    Everytime I see a Clas Ohlson carrier bag, I think of you. :)

    • Posted September 18, 2010 at 9:45 pm | Permalink

      Hehe :D Where do you see them, just out of interest? I truly love the company and love to see them branching out everywhere!

  5. Posted September 18, 2010 at 2:31 pm | Permalink

    The time is now, I wish you all success and a great first semester in university. I know will be alright and you´ll be the first in your class and World, look out! Emma is coming! Many kisses. xxx

    • Posted September 18, 2010 at 9:45 pm | Permalink

      Aww, thank you Claudio, and thank you for your support this year!


3 Trackbacks

  1. By And finally, one year on… « campus university on September 18, 2010 at 5:12 am

    […] post: And finally, one year on… « By admin | category: University of SHEFFIELD | tags: edinburgh-university, hsbc, […]

  2. By Hello strangers « on September 30, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    […] Skip to content About meAbout the blogContact « And finally, one year on… […]

  3. By Hello strangers » electric city on November 29, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    […] for the lack of updates, but as you may or may not have known from my emotional ranting and nervous rambling on Twitter, I have moved to university. In fact I’ve been here almost two […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

