The best (and worst) iPhone apps

I have a confession to make – I have joined the dark side. About a month ago, spurred on by my last ever paycheck from my gap-year job, I bought the iPhone 4. Before that, I was a BlackBerry girl through and through, going through countless models over the years. I loved my BlackBerry and still maintain that it’s the best phone for handling emails, but they crash all the bloody time, the BlackBerry app store has a really limited range of apps to download, and restarting the thing (which I had to do a lot due to the amount of times it likes to freeze daily) took an absolute age. And so I decided to jump ship and get an iPhone 4.

I’ve had my iPhone for around a month now, just enough time to fill it with apps – some pointless, some amazing. Here’s my pick of the best (and worst) apps around:

Hipstamatic – £1.79

I won’t lie, the Hipstamatic app was a big part of why I really wanted to get an iPhone. It’s a very simple app – you take a picture, it adds a lomo-style effect to it, meaning that even the worst of shots come out looking all arty and beautiful. I have a Flickr account dedicated to everything I take with the Hipstamatic app, and embarrassingly for the people I’m with, it has made me walk around Sheffield snapping away at everything and anything.

Tip: If you find trying to create combinations of lenses/films too time consuming and annoying, just shake your phone to use a random combination. Brilliant for the spontaneity lomography is famous for.

Pudding Camera – Free
Another lomo-style app, Pudding Camera also lets you apply weird yet wonderful effects to your photos, but unlike Hipstamatic it also features a fisheye lens and split screen lenses.

(Yes that is my actual, real life shopping list – bathroom cleaner, fairy lights and eggs. What a life I lead)

Errands – Free

If, like me, you have a non-existent memory, Errands is a life saver. A simple to-do list app, with Errands you can take a note of all the things you need to do, add a picture to the list, see your tasks on a calender, email your tasks, mark tasks as completed, and set an alarm so that you don’t forget whatever it is you’re supposed to be doing.

AllRecipies Dinner SpinnerFree

Stuck on what to have for dinner? Just give AllRecipes’ Dinner Spinner a spin and let it decide for you! You can tell it what kind of meal you want (main meal, starter, dessert, etc) and what main ingredient you want to use (chicken, eggs, chocolate, etc) and also how long you want to spend making it, and it will give you loads of options, and better still for the crap cooks out there such as me, easy to follow recipes. So you have no excuse for eating a Pot Noodle and some toast for food because you don’t know what to make.

Tetris – 59p
Everyone loves Tetris, right? Right. Playing it on the iPhone is a truly wonderful experience, and you will get addicted. You slide to bring the pieces down (or tetrominos, for all the geeks out there), tap to rotate them, and with the help of the Magic mode you can destroy pieces that are clogging up the screen, making you feel as if you’re actually good at Tetris and not completely hopeless (I speak from experience).

CloseCall – Free
I don’t know about you, but I’m pretty morbid and am always thinking about what will happen if, god forbid, I’m ever involved in an accident. How will anyone know who to inform? How will my loved ones know? I always have my phone with me, so it’s a pretty safe bet that someone will think to use my phone’s contact book to call either my mum or my dad. But what use is that to me, when I’m a student living 200 miles away from home? If I had to go to hospital, it would be nice to have someone with me, and how would anyone that doesn’t know me know that ‘Craig’ is my boyfriend? CloseCall is a basic, yet handy, app that allows you to create a wallpaper that includes a little strip that says who you’d like to be contacted in the event of an emergency. Hopefully you’ll never really need to use it, but it’s a good thing to have just in case.

Cut The Rope – 59p
Cut The Rope is a challenging, addictive game featuring just about the cutest little monster ever. The aim of the game is to get a piece of candy into a little monster’s mouth by cutting ropes to make it drop in. It’s a lot trickier than it sounds, and I guarantee it will leave you scratching your head and wondering how on earth you can complete some of the trickier levels. There are even various walkthroughs available if you get really stuck.

Other good apps

Sickipedia (Free) – good for a bit of a giggle

Words With Friends (Free) – a social version of Scrabble

Tesco Finder (Free) – does what it says on the tin.

The Guardian (£2.39) – pricey, but good for keeping up with news, features and comment from The Guardian.

And a special mention goes to these apps, which are so bad, they’re almost good. Almost.

(thats me beginning to think that 1p international calls are a good idea)

Mirror Zoom! – free

I’m not even sure why I downloaded this – sometimes hooking your phone up to wifi and bleeding the App Store dry is a really bad idea. This app is a ‘mirror’ that starts up your iPhone’s front facing camera. And adds loads of ads. Of course, you can pay for an ad-free version, but why not save the pennies and, err, just start up your iPhone’s front facing camera?

iAugument – free

Ever wanted to get a boob job? No? Neither have I, but I have always wanted to see what men look like with boobs/what it would look like if I had Jordan-style knockers. If you are the same, this is the app for you. You can thank me later.

9 Comments

  1. jrdouglas1988
    Posted November 4, 2010 at 1:55 pm | Permalink

    Makes me really want one, but I’m not sure whether I want the phone or just that hipstamtic camera thing, either way, it looks cool.

    • Posted November 4, 2010 at 1:56 pm | Permalink

      That’s what I thought, but now that I do have one I wonder why it took me so long to get it!

  2. Posted November 4, 2010 at 2:02 pm | Permalink

    Emma, you’re a blog-writing machine! :D How do you do it?

    Xxx

    • Posted November 4, 2010 at 3:55 pm | Permalink

      I just sometimes really get bitten by the blogging bug – but then sometimes I can go ages without posting a single thing. Right now I’m like ‘aaaargh, blogging! *taps away at keyboard*’

  3. Billy Scott
    Posted November 4, 2010 at 10:06 pm | Permalink

    I have Cut The Rope and Tetris but i cant believe u have left the mighty “Angry Birds” off, i love that game

    • Posted November 5, 2010 at 10:44 pm | Permalink

      I’ve never really understood the hype around Angry Birds! :(

  4. Alena Paul
    Posted November 5, 2010 at 5:59 am | Permalink

    Thanks for brining this useful information to our knowledge. I, in reality enjoyed every little thing that you create.

  5. Posted November 7, 2010 at 5:29 am | Permalink

    This is a good blog message, I will keep the post in my mind. If you can add more video and pictures can be much better. Because they help much clear understanding. :) thanks Elizawoolard.

  6. Posted December 1, 2010 at 9:48 am | Permalink

    And if it does not work? Where else can you read on this subject? Thank you, the author worked hard.


One Trackback

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by David Craig Morris, Jay R Douglas. Jay R Douglas said: The best (and worst) iPhone apps: http://wp.me/pGahO-lH by @beingnobody a blog for people who have/desire/dream all things iphone […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

