Me, myself, and i

Awww.

This week I became a national celebrity. Kinda.

On Monday I wrote a blog about how much I love i, the new newspaper from The Independent, after spending a few days reading it from cover to cover (well, apart from the sport pages, natch). I tweeted about it, and added in the i‘s Twitter name for good measure. On Wednesday morning, I woke up early and checked my blog stats (out of habit), which was lingering on a rather pitiful 4 hits (how could you do this to me, world?! 4 hits!). Later on that hour I checked and it had rocketed to almost 200 hits.

On further inspection it turned out that the traffic was all from the Independent’s website, apart from those people who get to my blog every day by searching for ‘Willow Smith wipe my hair’ (Wipe? WIPE?!).  Now, had this been the end of it I would have been very pleased indeed, but as it turns out the mention was also in the actual i newspaper, in editor Simon Kelner’s letter to his faithful public. Oh, the power of social media.

And so I ran to Tesco with a big stupid grin on my face (I haven’t been in a newspaper since I was about 8 and in the Llanelli Star, see) only to have it wiped right off as I found that no one in my local Tesco Express even knew what i was, and certainly did not stock it. So off I ran into the centre of Sheffield, where I confused a young woman working in one of those little huts full to the brim with newspapers and questionable bars of chocolate by demanding the i – in what was probably quite a scary voice (Sorry, young newshack worker).

And there it was!

(There it is)

The rest of the day was a bit of a blur, with my blog stats going absolutely bloody insane and jumping by hundreds everytime I refreshed. It has, of course, calmed down since then, but my views by 9am have since been more in the region of 40 than 4.

So this is just a hastily scribbled hello to new readers (if, indeed, there are any) and a big thanks to all the great feedback I’ve had about the original blog post. It has made me a very happy bunny indeed.

4 Comments

  1. Billy Scott
    Posted November 5, 2010 at 10:31 pm | Permalink

    Yay, woo. don’t forget I want your autograph. i’ll be a stan for you lol jk

    • Posted November 5, 2010 at 11:03 pm | Permalink

      Dear Slim, I wrote you but you still ain’t calling, I left my cell, my pager, and my home phone at the bottom, I sent two letters back in Autumn, you must not have got ’em…

      A vision of things to come?

  2. Posted November 5, 2010 at 10:43 pm | Permalink

    I had lots of fun watching the stats climb with you. I’m really glad so many people got to see how professional, fresh, accessible and awesome your blog is.

    • Posted November 5, 2010 at 11:06 pm | Permalink

      Awww, you’re so biased, but thank you!


One Trackback

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Dave , Emma. Emma said: If you missed it last night, I blogged about my rather strange week here: http://wp.me/pGahO-lV […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

