App of the week #1 – Mr Bump

Mr Bump – 59p [iTunes link]

Mr Bump is, of course, a loveable, clumsy character from Roger Hargreaves’ Mr Men series. He’s now also the star of his very own iPhone app, said to be the first in a series of Mr Men games. I loved the Mr Men (and Little Miss!) series when I was a child, and the combination of loveable characters and exciting stories mean that they still prove popular with children now.

In this game, which is incredibly similar to Doodle Jump, Mr Bump has been thrown from a boat and needs to be bounced to safety before he is swallowed up by a big waterfall. It is your job to tilt your iPhone left and right in order to get him to the top of the river, using the help of Mr Men characters such as Mr Tall and Mr Tickle.

Though I can imagine children who are fans of the series wanting to play this, this game is definitely not one for children, despite being rated suitable for ages 4+, because it’s so frustratingly difficult, yet incredibly addictive. My boyfriend and I have both spent hours at a time attempting to beat this with no success (and a lot of swear words when we inevitably fall into the waterfall).

It’s entertaining, great fun and its graphics make great use of the iPhone 4’s retina display. Well worth 59p. And one day I’ll complete it. One day…

This lovely video shows you what it’s like:

2 Trackbacks

  1. By App of the week #2: Doodle Fit « on November 26, 2010 at 9:33 am

    […] a quivering wreck, screaming ‘PLEASE! NO MORE!’ as I try and beat my high score. Just like the Mr Bump app last week, Doodle Fit is another such […]

  2. By App of the week #2: Doodle Fit » electric city on November 29, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    […] a quivering wreck, screaming ‘PLEASE! NO MORE!’ as I try and beat my high score. Just like the Mr Bump app last week, Doodle Fit is another such […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

